

Distr.: General 10 September 2019

English and French only

African Ministerial Conference on the Environment

African Ministerial Conference on the Environment Seventeenth session

Durban, South Africa, 11–15 November 2019

AMCEN BUREAUS: 1985 - 2019

The Bureau of the Conference is responsible for the implementation of the decisions of the Conference, and also for maintaining relations between the Conference and its member States and observers between the sessions. The Bureau meets in ordinary session once a year and at any other time that circumstances warrant. The members of the Bureau are elected by the Conference at its biennial sessions. The composition of the Bureaus since the inception of the Conference is set out below.

Year	Session	Venue	President	Vice-President & Rapporteur	Vice-Presidents
					Zaire
1985	First	Cairo	Egypt	Nigeria	Zimbabwe
					Senegal
					Kenya
					Algeria
					Zaire
1987	Second	Nairobi	Egypt	Nigeria	Zimbabwe
					Senegal
					Kenya
					Algeria
					Egypt
1989	Third	Nairobi	Kenya	Nigeria	Ethiopia
					Gabon
					Senegal
					Zambia
					Central African
1991	Fourth	Dakar	Senegal	Mauritius	Republic
					Djibouti
					Libyan Arab
					Jamahiriya
					Mauritania
					Mozambique
					Cameroon
1993	Fifth	Addis Ababa	Zimbabwe	Ghana	Uganda
1770					Morocco
					Botswana
					Burkina Faso
					Benin
1995 1997	Sixth	Nairobi	Central	Lesotho	South Africa
			African		Tunisia
			Republic		Congo
			_		United Rep. of
					Tanzania
					Sudan
	Seventh	Dakar	Egypt	Gambia	Guinea
					Sao Tome and
					Principe
					Swaziland

AMCEN/17/INF/2

					Tunisia
					Uganda
2000	Eighth	Abuja	Nigeria	Cameroon	Morocco
					South Africa
					Cameroon
2002	Ninth	Kampala	Uganda	Libyan Arab	Mauritius
				Jamahiriya	Cote d'Ivoire
					Central African
2004	Tenth	Sirte	Libyan Arab	Sudan	Republic
			Jamahiriya		Mali
					Namibia
	Eleventh	Brazzaville			Benin
2006			Republic of	Egypt	Rwanda
			Congo		South Africa
					Eritrea
2008	Twelfth	Johannesburg	South Africa	Burkina Faso	Gabon
					Libyan Arab
					Jamahiriya
					Algeria
2010	Thirteenth	Bamako	Mali	United Rep. of	Chad
				Tanzania	Malawi
					Botswana
2012	Fourteenth	Arusha	United Rep. of	Egypt	Democratic Republic
			Tanzania		of Congo
					Sierra Leone
2015	Fifteenth	Cairo	Egypt	Gabon	Namibia
					Niger
					Uganda
2017	Sixteenth	Libreville	Gabon	South Africa	Cote d'Ivoire
					Ethiopia
					Morocco

2